PDA

View Full Version : Dirt cheep gas checks

Oldbob
02-24-2009, 11:14 PM
Hello every one. I am new to this form, looks like a good group hear. Hear is some information that an old friend told me about 25 years ago. You can make free gas checks for straight wall cases out of the foam meat trays that comes with your hamburger & stakes. Cut little foam pills with a cartridge case sharpened with chaffing tool. Drill large hole where primer pocket is so you can push out the foam pills out after cutting them with a stick. Twisting and push cutter in to foam with a soft backstop . Little foam pills should be a tight fit in the case. Put one between powder and bullet. On heavy 44 mag loads I use two. You would think they would burn up but they do not. They will do a good job of sealing the hot gas from powder burn from the lead cast bullet. Before I found out about this trick I was cleaning lead out of the bore after each shooting. The foam gas checks keep the bore of my stainless blackhawk so clean I seldom have to clean it.

Bob

versifier
02-25-2009, 10:03 AM
Welcome to Gunloads Oldbob.