PDA

View Full Version : G'day from DownUnder

Norbrat
04-17-2009, 10:05 PM
G'day all

Just a quick hello and intro from sunny Adelaide in South Oz

As a long term IHMSA shooter, I've been reloading and casting for 25 years, but am always keen to learn more

The latest projects are to develop loads for my new Freedom Arms .357 Revolver, as well as some low power/sub sonic cast bullet loads for the .222 and .308

Cheers, and all the best

Norbert

versifier
04-18-2009, 08:01 AM
Welcome to Gunloads Norbert.

What moulds do you have in .22 and .30?

Norbrat
04-21-2009, 07:42 PM
Hi again

For the .308, I got the Lee CTL312-160-2R, as it was recommended by Ed Harris and I like the shape and style of the bullet.

For the .222, I got the 225-55GC and 225-42GC CBE (Cast Bullet Engineering) mould from Jim Allison.

I have a number of his moulds already, including the 285-160SGC for the 7TCU, as well as the 358-200 for the DW SuperMag, although that gun is to be sold and the bullet will be used in the FA.

Jim's moulds are like works of art, brass with thick sprue plates and they cast beautifully.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/11260137@N07/3464668624

I can't say the same about the Lee moulds. I have a few of those as well, but just don't get on with them as well as the CBE ones. I haven't done the Lee mould fixes yet as described on a few websites, but hopefully once I do it will address some of the niggling problems with those moulds.

Still, I was able to cast 150 or so of the 30 cal bullets in an hour. And have put them over 10gns of Trail Boss, but have yet to shoot them.

As I am busy renovating my house, She Who Must Be Obeyed is not too keen on me spending too much time on my shooting obsession! :mrgreen:

versifier
04-22-2009, 08:01 AM