PDA

View Full Version : New at muzzleloading

Treeman75
10-24-2005, 05:19 PM
I am new at muzzleloading in fact I recently bought a new THompson Center Encore 50 caliber. I have never owned or worked with muzzleloaders but have owned and hunted with about every other type of firearm. I am trying to find some information about sabots and loads that have worked for others with good results.

shrpshtrjoe
10-26-2005, 03:44 PM
Howdy Treeman. There is alot of things available for muzzleloaders out there. As far as loads i use beetween 90 and 100gr of 777 powder depending on the bullet, I have a traditions pursuit pro 50 cal it will shoot 150grains but have found the best accuraccy at 90 - 100grains. A good sabot that has shot in about every muzzleloader i have owned is the 240gr xtp TC puts them out in a box of 30 there lable is Mag Express Sabots you can get them at walmart fot about 10 bucks. I am curently shooting the 245 gr power belts my last muzzleloader didn't like them but the pursuit does. I have taken two deer this year during our early muzzleloader season a 100lb doe and 150 lb 8 point with them and they have performed well. The best advice i can give is try various bullets and powder charges (staying under max of course) and see what it likes.
Good Luck.
Joe

Treeman75
10-31-2005, 06:05 PM
Hey Joe,
Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. I am self employed and also going to college nights, busy time of year. I am going to a local military range this week and do the trial and error thing. I have both the 50 grain and the 30 grain pellets and also a selection of sabots from the TC 240gr./xtp, 250gr./PTX, 250gr./spire, and Hornaday 250gr./lock-n-loads. I am ready to get busy and find out what it's all about. My only problem is the fact that I know during repetition firing the barrel heat may cause the accurracy to fluctuate. Have you had any problems with this? Well, thanks for the info and I look forward to some more in the future.

shrpshtrjoe