PDA

View Full Version : handloadsforthehornady240gr.hp/xtpin.44magnum

david50
12-20-2005, 07:33 PM
hi everyone,i'm new to this site ,i ran across it on a links page thought it look interesting. i'm also new at reloading in fact i'm just getting started i'm starting out reloading .44 magnum and .223 remington.for my .44 magnum reloads i've been using alliant 2400,alliant power pistol and imr 800x powders. i would like to make some loads useing the 240gr. hornady hp/xtp but can find no data for this bullet useing these powders. can anyone tell me any good ,safe starting loads useing these powders. any help would be very much appriciated. by the way i'm shooting a ruger super redhawk with a 7 1/2 in. barrel. thank you very much david

versifier
12-21-2005, 12:14 PM
Sierra lists for Alliant 2400 and 240gr JHC bullet at 1.600" OAL:
fps est./charge weight 1250/19.5 1300/20.4 1350/21.3 MAX

800X is not listed because it is not considered a good choice for jacketed bullets in that case. 2400 is not very versatile in the .44mag and most don't bother with it for that reason, but only by trying and shooting can you find what actually shoots accurately in your gun.
Unique will make some nice low power target/practice loads (10.0 - 12.4gr, est 1100-1250fps), Lil Gun will give you the widest range of velocities (17.7gr- 22.8, est 1150-1400fps).