PDA

View Full Version : 7 mm Rem Mag question

Bmac
06-07-2007, 06:31 AM
I have been shooting a 7mm Rem Mag for 25 years and have noted a problem. This calibre tends to shoot through deer size game and not put them down immediately.
i.e. 140 gr Nosler ballistic tip bullet at approx 3200 fps hit a 2 point muley at 192 yards in the chest broadside. He stood for 30 seconds. I could tell he had a lethal hit and he wasn't moving so I watched. He finally went down. The hole was clear through the chest with an exit hole of 4". I have spoken to different people out here and they say 7mm's tend to shoot through animals without putting them down immediately.
This year the bullet was the same but shooting 3100 fps. The deer was a good 4 point at 150 yards but it put him down on the shot. I slowed the velocity down a bit to do this.
I have used various bullets in 7mm with the same result of not putting them down but when I went to a slower velocity it anchored the deer. I know the body size of a 4 pt is bigger than a 2 but I wouldn't think it would make that much difference. Anyone have an opinion?

versifier
06-07-2007, 07:59 PM
Welcome to the forum Bmac.

I am not a fan of magnum cartridges, but here in New England, 75 yards is a long shot. We have several members here who can give you their opinions on the 7mmMag specifically, but until they get around to posting, here is some food for thought.

When the bullet goes "right on through" at short range, no matter how much inertial energy it has, most of that energy exits with the bullet. A slower bullet that fully expands and leaves a good wound channel sheds more energy (in the form of hydrostatic shock) directly into the game animal, even if it exits.