PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from England

dancingbear41
08-13-2007, 12:44 AM
Good morning, it's still early here.

The reloading scene seems to be getting smaller and smaller in England and reliable advice, when required, is hard to come by.

I have been shooting for over 25 years and reloading something or other for all of that time. I like to think I am reasonably experienced and can work out most of my reloading issues myself.

I am a fanatical bullet caster, I have over 100 bullets moulds, that's quite impressive for over here, maybe not on your side of the pond.

I have a passion for the little .30 carbine round and will no doubt seek advice. I have two rifles chambered for it. A Southern Gun Company LA30, lever action based on the AR-15 design. Also, more recently, an Armalon AL30C a bolt action based on the Enfield No.4 action. I spent three years nagging Armalon to build it and they finally did.
Both rifles have twist rates much faster than the original M1 carbine semi-auto which is proving to be a challenge with cast bullets.

Enough rambling, I look forward to tapping into all of your experiences and will throw in my two cents when I can.

Simon.

versifier
08-13-2007, 08:19 AM
Welcome to the forum, Simon.
I, too, am a big fan of the .30carbine, but I like it best in a handgun. It has potential far in excess of what could be realized in the old military M1's. I'm very interested in hearing more about what it will do in a bolt action rifle. Perhaps you can post photos of your rifles, I think more than a few here will be interested to see them.
100 moulds is impressive, but not excessive. :) I think you'll be right at home here and at RL Guide & Cast Boolits Fora. Don't forget to check out the GL Home Page, too.

kodiak1
08-13-2007, 03:58 PM
Simon welcome from Western Canada. We do have a lot of good reading here.
Ken.

k-g
08-14-2007, 07:30 PM
Welcome aboard!