PDA

View Full Version : Easy way to remove bullet lube

bearlady284
08-18-2007, 08:36 PM
Hi All,

I am new to relaoding and want to know if there is an easy way to remove bullet lube from recently reloaded bullets. These are .40 cal S & W's 165 gr. using once-fired brass. I find that I have to wipe each bullet with some Hoppes and a rag so they seat in the gun properly. Does anyone have any ideas?

versifier
08-19-2007, 09:47 AM
Welcome to the forum, bearlady.

Who made the boolits in question? Any idea what the lube is? What kind of pistol are you shooting them in?

When I lube my own cast boolits, I remove Lee Liquid Alox from the noses of carry and hunting loads with some mineral spirits on a rag. I assume that if Hoppes will do it, m/s will work cheaper, quicker, and easier. Tumble lubing always leaves some lube on the noses, you can't help it. But IMO, it's a waste of good (and expensive) lube to overdo it to the point where it causes feeding problems. With conventional luber/sizers, too much is the result of improper adjustment, and if it is done properly, nothing is left on the noses. That is why I was asking where they came from and what they were lubed with.

While I suspect that you may be seating them just a tad too long, with a high pressure round like .40S&W, safety dictates that the greatest length at which they will feed without problems keeps the pressures lower and safer. So, your idea of fixing feeding this problem by removing excess lube is a very good one. The greatest danger with the .40 is loading it too short, or having an un- or undercrimped round telescope when feeding so that upon firing a spike in chamber pressure occurs, resulting in a KaBoom, ruining the pistol, and sometimes the shooter, too. For that reason, a good taper crimp is always recommended for any auto pistol round.