PDA

View Full Version : New Here from georgia

stevetarget
06-03-2008, 04:43 PM
Hello all. I found this site while searching for a scope to outfit a rifle. I Goggled a scope and it pointed me to the swap and sell forum. I read all the posts and stickys about the min post count and some of the trouble you have had in the past with folks trying to get over on members. I read a few more of the general posts and some of the reviews and decided to stick around and see what I can learn. I have been shooting for 45 years, I am a gunsmith and build custom rifles for hunting. I shoot CF benchrest and have been reloading for ~20 years. I think I would like to learn some more about casting boolits and this looks like a good place to start. I shoot ICORE matches and bowling pin shoots using mostly a 625 smith. I just got a progressive press for 45 acp and i am shooting the 625 a lot more than i thought I would so I need to learn what it is going to take to make some 230 grain slugs that won't break the bank and will still knock a pin over.

PS I usually can be found on the GON forum under the same user name as this one. stevetarget. Check out our forum when you have time. Its usually interesting to say the least. http://forum.gon.com/index.php

versifier
06-03-2008, 05:20 PM
Welcome to Gunloads. Your input and experience will be very welcome here.

I shoot a lot of 45ACP and my semis all like the Lee 6cav #452 228 1R. You might also like the TL452 230 TC. The shape doesn't matter so much with a revolver as there are no feeding issues, but as you know, every gun has its favorite bullets. You can get Lee 2cavs inexpensively - there are four choices - to find out which one shoots best, then get the 6cav version for production. (They are also much better made than the 2cavs). I use an alloy of 1/2 wheel weights/ 1/2 pure lead and tumble lube with a push through sizer.

kodiak1
06-04-2008, 05:05 PM
stevetarget welcome to the forum.
Ken.

jlb300
06-06-2008, 07:04 PM
welcome
jlb300